# C. Non-proliferation/Democratic People's Republic of Korea

#### Overview

During the period 2012 to 2013, the Council held four meetings, issued one presidential statement and adopted three resolutions concerning non-proliferation in the context of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea. During the same period, the Democratic People's Republic of Korea conducted two launches using ballistic missile technology, on 13 April 2012 and 12 December 2012, respectively, in contravention of applicable Security Council resolutions. The Democratic People's Republic of Korea conducted a nuclear test on 12 February 2013, also in contravention of applicable resolutions. In its decisions, the Council condemned the launches and the nuclear test. It also modified and expanded the sanctions measures imposed on the Democratic People's Republic of Korea pursuant to resolutions 1718 (2006) and 1874 (2009),1121 modified and extended the mandate of the Committee established pursuant to resolution 1718 (2006) and extended the mandate of the Panel of Experts until 12 July 2013.1122

#### Decisions of the Council relating to non-proliferation/Democratic People's Republic of Korea

On 16 April 2012, following the launch on 13 April 2012 of a satellite by the Democratic People's Republic of Korea, the Council issued a presidential statement in which it strongly condemned the launch in of resolutions 1718 violation (2006)and 1874 (2009).<sup>1123</sup> In the statement, the Council demanded that the Democratic People's Republic of Korea not proceed with any further launches using ballistic missile technology and comply with resolutions 1718 (2006) and 1874 (2009) by suspending all activities related to its ballistic missile programme and in that context re-establish its commitments to a moratorium on missile launches. The

Council also agreed to adjust the sanctions measures imposed by paragraph 8 of resolution 1718 (2006), as modified by resolution 1874 (2009), inter alia, by designating additional entities and items. In addition, the Council demanded that the Democratic People's Republic of Korea immediately comply fully with its obligations under resolutions 1718 (2006) and 1874 (2009), including that it abandon all nuclear weapons and existing nuclear programmes in a complete, verifiable and irreversible manner, immediately cease all related activities, and not conduct any further launches that use ballistic missile technology, nuclear tests or any further provocation.

On 22 January 2013, the Council unanimously adopted resolution 2087 (2013), in which it condemned the Democratic People's Republic of Korea's launch of 12 December 2012, which used ballistic missile technology in violation of resolutions 1718 (2006) and 1874 (2009). The Council demanded that the Democratic People's Republic of Korea not proceed with any further launches using ballistic missile technology, and also that it comply with resolutions 1718 (2006) and 1874 (2009), including that it abandon all nuclear weapons and existing nuclear programmes in a complete, verifiable and irreversible manner. The Council expanded the measures imposed by resolutions 1718 (2006) and 1874 (2009), and recalled and clarified certain aspects of those measures.

The Council deplored the violations by the Democratic People's Republic of Korea of the measures imposed in resolutions 1718 (2006) and 1874 (2009), including the use of bulk cash to evade sanctions, and underscored its concern over the supply, sale or transfer to or from the Democratic People's Republic of Korea or through States' territories of any item that could contribute to activities prohibited by the above-mentioned resolutions.

On 7 March 2013, the Council unanimously adopted resolution 2094 (2013), in which it condemned in the strongest terms the nuclear test conducted by the Democratic People's Republic of Korea on 12 February 2013, in violation and flagrant disregard of the relevant Security Council resolutions. It demanded that the Democratic People's Republic of Korea immediately retract its announcement of withdrawal from the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons, and underlined the need of all States parties to the Treaty to continue to comply with their Treaty obligations. The Council reaffirmed its decision

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1121</sup> For more information on the sanctions measures, see part VII, sect. III. A, "Decisions of the Security Council relating to Article 41".

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1122</sup> For more information on the Committee established pursuant to resolution 1718 (2006) and the Panel of Experts created pursuant to resolution 1874 (2009), see part IX, sect. I.B, "Committees overseeing specific sanctions measures".

<sup>1123</sup> S/PRST/2012/13.

that the Democratic People's Republic of Korea should abandon all nuclear weapons and existing nuclear programmes, and abandon all other existing weapons of mass destruction and ballistic missile programmes in a complete, verifiable and irreversible manner. In its resolution, the Council further strengthened and expanded the sanctions against the Democratic People's Republic of Korea.

## Extension of the mandate of the Panel of Experts

On 12 June 2012, the Council unanimously adopted resolution 2050 (2012), in which it decided to extend until 12 July 2013 the mandate of the Panel of Experts, as specified in paragraph 26 of resolution 1874 (2009).

Meeting record and date	Sub item	Other documents	Rule 37 invitations	Rule 39 and other invitations	Speakers	Decision (for-against-abstaining)
<mark>S/PV.6752</mark> 16 April 2012						S/PRST/2012/13
S/PV.6783 12 June 2012		Draft resolution (S/2012/423) submitted by the United States				Resolution 2050 (2012) 15-0-0
S/PV.6904 22 January 2013		Draft resolution (S/2013/41) submitted by the United States				Resolution 2087 (2013) 15-0-0
S/PV.6932 7 March 2013		Draft resolution $(S/2013/136)$ submitted by 14 Member States <sup><i>a</i></sup>	Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Japan, Netherlands, Philippines			Resolution 2094 (2013) 15-0-0

#### Meetings: non-proliferation/Democratic People's Republic of Korea

<sup>*a*</sup> Australia, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Japan, Morocco, Netherlands, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Rwanda, Togo, United Kingdom and United States

### **37.** Post-conflict peacebuilding

#### Overview

From 2012 to 2013, the Security Council held three meetings in connection with post-conflict peacebuilding and adopted one presidential statement. The Council considered the annual reports of the Peacebuilding Commission at two of the meetings, which were followed by informal interactive dialogues, and at a separate meeting considered the report of the Secretary-General on peacebuilding in the aftermath of conflict and adopted the presidential statement.

#### Annual reports of the Peacebuilding Commission

On 12 July 2012, the Secretary-General highlighted progress made two years after the review of the peacebuilding architecture, comprising the Peacebuilding Commission, the Peacebuilding Fund and the Peacebuilding Support Office, particularly in

Liberia, Sierra Leone and Guinea. He mentioned three areas in which the Commission could do more to enhance the impact of peacebuilding tools: improving its capacity to leverage its membership and its ability to mobilize resources; sustaining the focus on longerterm peacebuilding; and adding significant value in some non-mission settings in the form of intergovernmental support.<sup>1124</sup>

The former Chair of the Peacebuilding Commission (Rwanda) presented the Commission's annual report.<sup>1125</sup> He stated that the Commission had responded to the request from Guinea for advice and support and that Guinea had thereby become the sixth country on the Commission's agenda, although the

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1124</sup> S/PV.6805, pp. 2-3.

<sup>1125</sup> **S**/2012/70.